Thu 10 Oct ’19 20:15 uur
Prokofiev, Bruckner, Britten

BBC Philharmonic Orchestra

Augustin Hadelich, violin

John Storgards, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin


Britten - Simple Symphony
Prokofiev - Violin Concerto no. 2
Bruckner - Symphony no. 6


Thu 10 Oct ’19
20:15 uur
  • Thu 10 Oct ’19
    20:15 uur
    main hall
  • Price does not include € 2 service costs per ticket

"The soloist wove a silvery thread of finely focused tone through each page of the score” said the Chicago Tribune about violinist Augustin Hadelich. Silvery, that’s a great description of the gorgeous Second violin concerto by Prokofiev.

He wrote it in 1936 for the Teatro Monumental in Madrid without ever denying his Russian roots. Anton Bruckner said about his Sixth symphony ‘Die Sechste ist die keckste.’ Quite the humorous description of a piece of music that primarily depicts the majestic beauty of the Alps where Bruckner was born. The Guardian didn’t just praise Hadelich but the BBC Philharmonic as well: ‘Exceptional beauty’. Bruckner would be pleased; he only got to hear two parts of the piece.


We invite you to join us for a free introduction prior to the concert. The introduction will be presented by Bart de Graaf in the small hall, and will start at 19:30. 

To keep waiting times down to an absolute minimum, this concert will make use of the 'wallet-less intermission' concept. Visitors are asked to pay for their intermission drink in advance when ordering their tickets: the perfect solution for enjoying your company and your drink as long as possible! 

We gebruiken cookies om uw bezoek aan deze website zo plezierig mogelijk te maken. We onthouden bijvoorbeeld uw persoonlijke instellingen. Ook gebruiken we Google Analytics om inzage te krijgen in de gebruiksvriendelijkheid van de website en deze vervolgens te kunnen verbeteren.
Meer informatie