Erik Bosgraaf & Ensemble Cordevento

Grief and beauty in the Grand Siècle
Festival Oude Muziek presents
Wed 8 Feb ’23 20:15 uur

Works by Marais, Hotteterre, D’Anglebert & Dornel

Wed 8 Feb ’23
20:15 uur
  • Wed 8 Feb ’23
    20:15 uur
    Small Hall
    Past event

'Le Plaintif'

Intense. Sad. Intensely sad. Intriguing too. And even Cordevento calls its concert Le Plaintif: The Complaint. Will there be tears tonight? Possibly, with the audience. Not that it will be one big lament; the composers on this program - all French - knew how to keep it within the bounds of acceptability, or rather artfulness. For a while in the late 17th and early 18th centuries, sad music was fashionable in France; it inspired people like Marain Marais and Jacques-Martin Hotteterre to write immortally beautiful compositions. 

Erik Bosgraaf is the Netherlands' best-known recorder player, as well as a musicologist. He is also considered one of the world's most virtuosic recorder players and he is certainly one of the most adventurous. For him, the recorder is an inexhaustible source of inspiration and possibilities. Bosgraaf has won several awards, including the London Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award and the Dutch Music Prize. Baroque ensemble Cordevento consists basically of a trio: flutist Erik Bosgraaf, harpsichordist Alessandro Pianu and baroque guitarist Izhar Elias. They play in varying compositions with other musicians on (copies of) old instruments. Cordevento has performed at prestigious festivals throughout Europe, America and Russia.

 Ensemble Cordevento
Sjaak Verboom

To reduce waiting times at the bar to an absolute minimum, we use a cashless interval. A drink is included in your ticket, so you'll have more time to enjoy your company and your drink.