Feestelijk openingsconcert

Storioni Festival
Thu 2 Jun ’22 20:15 uur

Sharon Kam, clarinet
Sergey Malov, violin
Antti Tikkanen, violin
Pauline Sachse, violin
Igor Ahss, bassoon
Hervé Joulain, horn
Ying Lai Green, double bass
Storioni Trio

W.A. Mozart - 'Contradances Figaro' no.1-5, KV.609 
Sergey Malov - 'Reflections on Bach' 
Sebastian Fagerlund - 'Remain' for piano trio, Dutch premiere 
Robert Schumann - 'Märchenerzählungen' op.132
Eugène Ysaye - Violin sonata op.27, no.2 in a.s., 'Obsession', part 1 
Franz Schubert - Octet in F gr. D803

Thu 2 Jun ’22
20:15 uur
  • Thu 2 Jun ’22
    20:15 uur
    Small Hall
    Past event

For the fifth festival concert in the Recital Hall of Muziekgebouw Eindhoven, friendly musicians will again be flown in. friendly musicians. These include the German, Israeli-born clarinettist Sharon Kam, who won the ARD International Music Competition in 1992 and was nominated for the Davidoff Prize. for the Davidoff Prize. Also on the bill is Sergey Malov, the virtuoso from St. Petersburg who not only plays the not only plays the violin, but also the viola and the cello da spalla, the so-called 'shoulder cello', the instrument on which Bach probably played his Cello suites.

It is very appropriate that Malov can be heard here on his wonderful string instrument in his Reflections on Bach. Besides the Finnish violinist Besides Finnish violinist Antti Tikkanen, Ying Lai Green, the Cambridge-born double bassist who graduated with the highest honours in Manchester and London, and is solo bassist of the Rotterdam Philharmonic. Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra.

After Mozart's jaunty opening dances and Sergey Malov's Bach reflections, music from today, by one of the most prominent European composers of his generation, the Dutch premiere of the piano trio by the Finn Sebastian Fagerlund (1972). Then the late fairytale tales by Schumann and an excursion to the Belgian violin virtuoso Eugène Ysaÿe. And as the final piece of the programme, Franz Schubert's magisterial Octet, which brings together five strings and three winds as a great musical display of democracy.


"This masterpiece by Schubert - one of my favourite composers - transports the listener to a Heuriger at the Wiener Wald. A group of friends tell each other beautiful stories about friendship, sorrow, passion and pleasure. A true experience." - Wouter Vossen, Storioni Trio