Nederlands Symfonie Project

10 jaar Nederlands Symfonie Project
Fri 26 Aug ’22 20:00 uur

Pim Cuijpers, dirigent
Thomas Beijer, piano

Respighi - Pini di Roma
Ravel - Pianoconcert in G
Rachmaninov - Symfonische Dansen

Fri 26 Aug ’22
20:00 uur

Eine Alpensinfonie by Richard Strauss (1864-1949) presents a picturesque soundscape of a trek through the mountains. Along the way, the music offers beautiful views and scenic vistas: sunrise, a waterfall, flowering meadows, gusts of fog, and also a life-threatening thunderstorm. 

But the Alpine Symphony is definitely more than a collection of vacation snapshots: with its epic inspiration, impressive grandeur, and compelling drama, there has rarely been such a swirling and vivid depiction of nature as in this beautiful tone poem. 

Before the break, the first horn concert by Richard Strauss by Jasper de Waal, former solo hornist of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. After the break, OrkestZUID will climb to the top of its game with this Alpine symphony and enchant you for an hour with inspired and expressive orchestral playing.