Fazil Say & Jamal Aliyev

Master pianist and composer plays his own chamber music
Masters of Chamber Music
Mon 16 Oct ’23 20:15 uur

Fazil Say, piano
Jamal Aliyev, cello

Franck - Sonata for cello & piano 
Fazıl Say - Hayat Ağaci (Tree of Life) Suite Suite for piano & cello 
Fazıl Say - "Dört Şehir" (Four Cities) Sonata for cello & piano

Mon 16 Oct ’23
20:15 uur
  • Mon 16 Oct ’23
    20:15 uur
    Hertog Jan Hall

'Say was all exuberance, using hands, arms and head to indicate entries and his whole body to stimulate outbursts.' The New York Times was duly impressed by Turkish pianist Fazil Say's playing. Former child prodigy, he also developed into one of the world's leading composers today. Dancing, oriental rhythms, a continuous pulse and a wealth of melodic ideas often traceable to the folk music of his homeland Turkey. Add some Bartók, some Ligeti, AND jazz and this is the accessible, compelling style in which Say has now written more than 100 successful works.

A suite and a sonata for cello and piano. Hayat Ağaci, meaning Tree of Life, a very recent work. Dört Şehir means Four Cities, a portrait of four very different cities in Anatolia. Together with Turkish cellist Jamal Aliyev ('enviable technique and a rich, broad palette' - Classical Music Magazine), he also plays César Franck's violin sonata in an arrangement for cello and piano. A powerful, romantic piece, the best sonata France ever produced; its slender beginning sounds like 'a bird calling to its mate at daybreak,' according to Marcel Proust, who promptly made it the leitmotif in his novel cycle À la recherche du temps perdu.