Mikhail Pletnev

Master pianist plays Brahms & Dvorak
Great Pianists
Sat 7 Oct ’23 20:15 uur


Brahms - Rhapsody opus 79 no. 1
Dvořák - Minuet opus 28 no. 1 (Moderato)
Dvořák - 6 Stücke opus 52 (selection)
Brahms - Intermezzo opus 118 no. 6
Dvořák - 8 Humoresques opus 101 (selection)
Dvořák - Humoresque B. 138
Dvořák - Eclogue in G major, B. 103 no. 3
Brahms - 3 Intermezzi opus 117
Dvořák - Eclogue B. 103 no. 4
Dvořák - Moderato B. 116 
Brahms - Ballad opus 118 no. 3
Dvořák - Poetic Tone Pictures opus 85 (selection)

Sat 7 Oct ’23
20:15 uur

Mikhail Vassilyevich Pletnev. Pianist? Conductor? Composer? All three, in fact. Today in his capacity as pianist. He gives a solo recital, leaving the  Russian National Orchestra he founded at home. Home is Russia, where he was born in 1957. Pianist Mikhail Pletnev first drew attention to himself when he won the Gold Medal and First Prize of the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow in 1978, age 21. It was the beginning of a great career. Multiple awards followed, including the State Prize First Class of the Russian Federation (2002 and 2005), an Echo Klassik for his Scriabin (1999) and a Grammy Award for Best Interpretation of a Chamber Music Work (with Martha Argerich; 2005).

An original pianist - perhaps also because he is a composer, taking a creative approach to the subject matter. In this in depth programme, the legendary pianist juxtaposes miniatures by Dvořák and Brahms. Classics Today wrote of a performance by Pletnev: "His compellingly elaborate pianistics invariably focus on the elemental and spiritual heart of the music. An intimate evening with one of the most compelling pianists of current times."