VU Orchestra

They take you on a heroic journey
For the Love of Music
Wed 17 Jan ’24 20:15 uur

Arjan Tien, chief conductor

Florence Price - The Oak
David Earl - Clarinet Concerto
Richard Strauss - Ein Heldenleben

Wed 17 Jan ’24
20:15 uur

Led by chief conductor Arjan Tien, the VU Orchestra takes a heroic journey through South Africa, America and Germany. Through three unique works, the orchestra will take you through these beautiful destinations. The many different speaking sounds the programme has to offer make it a once-in-a-lifetime journey with works never before heard in the Netherlands!

During World War II, African-American composer Florence Price composed "The Oak". On this evening, the dark and mysterious sides of the symphony orchestra are explored in this orchestral essay. By the way, Price was the first black female composer whose works were performed by the large, professional orchestras in her home country. David Earl's clarinet concerto that you will hear also has its European premiere at Muziekgebouw Eindhoven and is a unique collaboration. In 2013, the South African-British composer dedicated this piece to African solo clarinettist Maria du Toit, who premiered it under the baton of chief conductor Arjan Tien. A decade after the first performance, you will hear the European premiere with Maria du Toit as soloist during this beautiful evening.