© Askonas Holt


Ravel's ‘jazzy’ piano concerto
Sat 24 May ’25 20:15 uur


Dirk Kaftan - conductor
Alexandre Tharaud - piano

Bacewicz - Overture
Ravel - Piano Concerto in G
Brahms - Symphony No. 2

Sat 24 May ’25
20:15 uur
  • Sat 24 May ’25
    20:15 uur
    Hertog Jan Hall
  • A drink is included in the price

Conductor Dirk Kaftan has been leading the renowned Beethoven Orchestra Bonn for years. This marks his debut with Philzuid. The program featuring Brahms and Ravel suits the German maestro perfectly. Brahms composed his Symphony No. 2 in the summer of 1877 in an idyllic Austrian village by a lake. It is his sunniest, most carefree symphony. Finally stepping out of Beethoven's shadow, Brahms had found his voice.

The French virtuoso pianist Alexandre Tharaud once created a music video for Ravel's Piano Concerto in G. Set to the enchanting piano sounds of the Adagio, it depicts him leaving his house at night, walking to the river, and immersing himself in the water. This romantic concert takes you on a journey along the stream of absolute symphonic masterpieces.