Mikhail Pletnev

Master pianist plays Brahms & Dvorak
Great Pianists
Sat 7 Oct ’23 20:15 uur


Brahms - Rhapsody opus 79 no 1
Dvořák - Minuet opus 28 nr 1 (Moderato)
Dvořák - 6 Stücke opus 52 (selection)
Brahms - Intermezzo opus 118 nr 6
Dvořák - 8 Humoresques opus 101 (selection)
Dvořák - Humoresque B. 138
Dvořák - Eclogue in G major, B. 103 nr 3
Brahms - 3 Intermezzi opus 117
Dvořák - Eclogue B. 103 nr 4
Dvořák - Moderato B. 116 
Brahms - Ballad opus 118 nr 3
Dvořák - Poetic Tone Pictures opus 85 (selection)

Sat 7 Oct ’23
20:15 uur
  • Sat 7 Oct ’23
    20:15 uur
    Main Hall
  • A drink is included in the price

Mikhail Vassilyevich Pletnev. Pianist? Conductor? Composer? All three. Today again in his capacity as pianist. Gives a solo recital and leaves at home the Russian National Orchestra he founded. Home is Russia, where he was born in Archangelsk in 1957. Pianist Mikhail Pletnev first drew attention to himself when he won the Gold Medal and First Prize of the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow in 1978, age 21. It was the beginning of a great career. Multiple awards followed, including twice the State Prize First Class of the Russian Federation (2002 and 2005), an Echo Klassik for his Skrjabin (1999) and a Grammy Award for Best Interpretation of a Chamber Music Work (with Martha Argerich; 2005).

An original pianist - perhaps also because he is a composer and takes a creative approach to the subject matter. In this thoughtful program, he juxtaposes Dvořák's miniatures with Brahms'. Classics Today wrote of a performance by Pletnev: "His compellingly elaborate pianistics invariably focus on the elemental and spiritual heart of the music.