New York, New York
For the Love of Music
Mon 3 Jun ’24 20:15 uur

Ramon van Engelenhoven - piano
Jos Schroevers - conductor

Aaron Copland, arr. Longfield - Appalachian Spring (fragments)
Sergei Rachmaninov, arr. D. McLain - Symphonic Dances Op. 45
George Gershwin, arr. Marco Tamanini - Rhapsody in Blue
Leonard Bernstein, arr. Paul Lavender - Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Mon 3 Jun ’24
20:15 uur
  • Mon 3 Jun ’24
    20:15 uur
    Hertog Jan Hall
  • A drink is included in the price

Inspired by the dynamic city of New York that never sleeps, always bustling, and where various composers captured their musical impressions on paper, OrkestZUID has once again put together a diverse and challenging programme. The focus is on Symphonic Dances from West Side Story by Leonard Bernstein, Symphonic Dances Opus 45 by Sergei Rachmaninov, and Rhapsody in Blue by George Gershwin. All the symphonic dances were composed in New York. Rachmaninov's piece is even his only work ever written in the United States.

OrkestZUID pays homage to the masterpiece of George Gershwin: 'Rhapsody in Blue.' Exactly 100 years ago, on February 12, 1924, the first notes of this unparalleled composition resounded in the Aeolian Hall in New York City during the ambitious concert 'An Experiment in Modern Music' under the direction of jazz bandleader Paul Whiteman.

On June 3, OrkestZUID celebrates this musical milestone at Muziekgebouw Eindhoven with an enchanting performance of 'Rhapsody in Blue.' Under the direction of conductor Jos Schroevers and featuring the virtuoso Ramon van Engelenhoven as the soloist, the characteristic sounds of Gershwin's masterpiece will fill the hall.

More info about OrkestZUID

For the Love of Music

This concert is part of the For the Love of Music project. Club life is an important social-cultural engine of our society. We think this is important and therefore we are happy to make our halls available to anyone who loves music: creators, artists and musicians from Eindhoven and the region.